Book Review: Eat to Live

Hi all and Happy Monday. Today I’d like to review a popular book I just finished reading. It’s called Eat to Live, by Joel Fuhrman. Have any of you read this? I received it as a gift and decided to give it a try.

Here’s what I concluded:

1. I like Dr. Fuhrman’s philisophy about eating the foods that your body needs to function. For example, processed junk foods like Oreos, Doritos and M & M’s arent fueling your body. In fact, they aren’t giving you any kind of nutrients or vitamins. They are just chemicals you are putting your body.

2. I agree with his idea about “shopping the perimeter” at the grocery store. By shopping for fresh produce you will be buying foods that provide the nutrients you need to live healthily. There is a reason that the packaged items in the middle aisles can last forever– because they are full of preservatives and chemicals– these aren’t real foods! Your food should go bad– if it doesn’t– it isn’t real food!

3. I like the idea that eating real foods and drinking water can help your whole body to be healthier. There is a circle he describes in his book- eating better means your body is running on nutrients rather than junk. Then you become fitter and more mobile and therefore your body can fight off diseases and afflictions easier. Dr. Fuhrman has said that many of his patients were diabetic and now aren’t, or were taking many medications and have stopped. While I’m not sure if all of this is directly related, I’m sure that healthy eating can have a positive impact on your overall well-being.

Some things I didn’t like about the book:

1. He says to cut out meats- even lean poultry! I will never give up meat! I think chicken and turkey are a great source of protein. In fact, he doesn’t really think protein is all that important. Disagree.

2. His meal plan is pretty weak. I think that there is nothing wrong with eating 5 or 6 small meals a day of real food. He tries to cut it down to 3 meals a day. I would starve!!!!

3. I realize the book is called Eat to Live, and it is all about eating, but I think he should have addressed the importance of exercise. Even just a little chapter. I think what you eat is WAY more important than how much you exercise, but there are so many benefits to exercise that he should have at least mentioned it!

Anyway, I enjoyed reading the book, but I don’t think I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in fitness and working out. Maybe I would recommended it to someone who ate really poorly. Check it out if you are interested!

Question: Read any good “Eating” books lately?

Prosper and be in good health,

lulu

Leave a Reply

